2018 Donors

Would you like to become a donor? Click here.

Day Sponsor ($5,000-$35,000)

Naomi and Nehemiah Cohen Foundation
DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities
Scott Eric Dreyer and Ellen Clare Gillespie Dreyer
The Dweck Family
Embassy of Israel
Ginny and Irwin Edlavitch
Lois and Richard England Family Foundation
Susie and Michael Gelman, The Morningstar Foundation*
Rena and Michael Gordon
Elise and Marc Lefkowitz
Jacob and Charlotte Lehrman Foundation
Linda and Sid Moskowitz
Melanie and Larry Nussdorf
Dr. Sara Cohen and Norm Rich, Dr. Paul and Cyna Cohen
Deborah and Michael Salzberg
Rory and Shelton Zuckerman

Producer ($3,000-$4,999)

Michele and Allan Berman
Barbara Silverstein and Alan Kirschenbaum
Richard Solloway

Director ($1,800-$2,999)

Monica and Gavin Abrams
Patty Abramson and Les Silverman
Rose and Robert Cohen
Dina Gold
Brenda Gruss and Daniel Hirsch
Belman Klein Associates, Ltd.
Liza and Michael Levy
Susan Wedlan and Harold Rosen
Sue-Ann and Eric Siegel
Tabard Corporation
Diane Abelman Wattenberg
Judith Weintraub

Lights ($1,100-$1,799)

Esther Saks Abelman Yiddish Culture Fund
Dava Berkman
Anne and Howard Clemons
Morgan and Josh Genderson
Tamara and Harry Handelsman
Margery and Joseph Hoffman
Aviva Kempner*
Anita Lampel and Daniel Metlay
Janet Leno and Peter Harrold
Dianne and Herb Lerner
Joy Midman
Deborah and Juan Prawda
Joan and Barry Rosenthal
Lynn and John Sachs
Margie and Neil Schechter
Mimi Tygier and Robert Rubin

Camera ($550-$1,099)

Charlotte and Michael Baer
Leesa Fields and Jonathan Band
Miriam and Eliezer H. Benbassat
Lynn and Wolf Blitzer
Rosalind and Donald Cohen
CORTJET – Bruce and Lisa Cort
James A. Feldman and Natalie Wexler*
Susan and Michael Friedman
Sylvia Greenberg
Iris Lipkowitz
Linda Lipsett and Jules Bernstein
Dalya and Edward Luttwak
Aviva Meyer
Dorothy Moss and Lawrence Meyer
Diane Lipson Schilit and Howard Schilit
Sue Brett and Rob Shesser
Tina and Albert Small, Jr.
Francine Zorn Trachtenberg and Stephen Joel Trachtenberg*

Action ($275-$549)

Babs and Rabbi A.N. Abramowitz
Alison Baraf and Aryeh Portnoy
Karen Shapiro Barbash and Barry Barbash
Sanders H. Berk, MD and Sally Berk
Suanne and Richard Beyda
Ron Kaplan and Yoni Bock
Carol Ann Dyer
Fabrangen Inc*
Lorraine Gallard and Richard H. Levy
Lisa and Tom Goldring
Florence and Peter Hart
Sandra Hoexter
Helen and Gary Klein
William Kreisberg
Leslie Barron Lane and Bruce Lane
Sarah Pokempner and Jerry Levine
Sheila Lieber
Marian and Alan Malasky
Carol Mates and Mark Kahan
Simor Moskowitz
Miriam Mörsel Nathan and Harvey Nathan*
Joan Nathan and Allan Gerson
Lynn Levin Oshinsky and Stan Oshinsky
Peggy Parsons
Debby Prigal
Ruth Ticktin and Eric Rome*
Gerald Serotta*
Yulia Spivak and Roman Svirsky
Deborah Tannen and Michael Macovski
John Tolleris
Cathy and Peter Toren
Joan S. Wessel
Barbara Yellen and Phil West

Cinephile ($175-$274)

Elaine Braverman
Barry and Carmel Chiswick
Morris Cohen
Lois Cohen
Dave Connick
The Jewish Study Center*
Vered Drazen
Kay Flick Elfant*
Debra and Marvin Feuer
Eva Fogelman and Jerome Chaves*
Ronna and Stan Foster
Gayle Schwartz and Larry Garber*
Doris Hamburg and Jerry Garfinkel*
Ann and Frank Gilbert
Debra Goldberg and Seth Waxman
Lynn Goldin and Henry Birnkrant
Frances E. Goldman*
David J. Goldston*
Marci Handler and Doug Klayman
Alison Drucker and Tom Holzman
Alma and Sid Kaplan
Noel and Jeffrey Katz
Bill Levenson
Devra Marcus and Michael Horowitz
Sandy and Howard Marks
Christin Martinelli
Lynda Cahan Mulhauser
Arlington Podiatry Center – Dr. Edward S. Pozarny
Linda Roth
Debra and Jonathan Rutenberg
Diane Scheininger
Lawrence Schleifer
Debra Schwartz
Michelle Sender
Norman Shore*
Silver Family Foundation – Peggy and Sidney Silver
Phyllis and Steve Solomon
Emily Sommers
Margaret Hahn Stern and Stephen Stern
Julia Paradise and Emanuel Thorne*
Marcia and Ira Wagner
Janet and Henry Waxman
Robin Hettleman and Matthew Weinberg
Oliver Wolf

General Donors ($174 or less)

Rhoda Abrams
Judith F. Beltz*
Dina Rosenfeld and Howard Berkowitz*
Irene Bleiweiss*
Rachel and Steven Braun*
Amira and Richard Chadwick
Temple Sinai
Charlotte and Edgar Edelsack*
Terrie Gale and Robert S. Adler*
Mindy Gasthalter
Debbie J. Goldman*
Barbara Goodman*
Merle Feinglass Goodman
Rachel Hecht
Linda and Jay Herson
Gilbert Holland
Toby Hyman*
Pamela Hilary Kasenetz
Lise Van Susteren and Jonathan Kempner*
Sandy Kronsberg and Jerry Skalka
Mary and Edward Levy
Randi Abramson and Michael Lieberman
Iraida Longin
Gay and Don Losman
Nadya and Vladmir Lumelsky
Laura and Steve Nash
Julie Porter
Louis K. Rothberg
David Sacks
Maddie Shapiro
Gail Shirazi
Margaret Siegel*
Carol Simon*
Philip Sternberg
Sheila Taube
Debra Weinstein
Jerry and Carol Lee Weiss
Robert and Anne Yerman

EDCJCC Fund Support

Milton and Helen Covensky Fund
The Samuel and Marlene Halperin Arts Fund
Chaim Kempner Fund
The Harriet J. Neuman Endowment Fund
Max and Esther Ticktin Fund
The Arthur Tracy “The Street Singer” Endowment Fund

Funded in part by the D.C. Commission on the Arts and & Humanities, an agency supported in part by the National Endowment for the Arts

Lead support of the Edlavitch DCJCC is provided by

Arlene and Robert Kogod, The Robert and Arlene Kogod Family Foundation
The Jewish Federation of Greater Washington
The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation

*The Max and Esther Ticktin Fund, which helps to underwrite Yiddish-language screenings at the Washington Jewish Film Festival in memory and in celebration of the legacy of Max and Esther Ticktin, received contributions from these generous individuals.

Max and Esther made unparalleled contributions to Washington, DC Jewish cultural life over many decades. Rabbi Max Ticktin taught Hebrew language and Israeli literature classes at George Washington University and Esther Ticktin was a Holocaust survivor as well as a pioneer of Jewish feminism and a longtime dedicated member of the Fabrangan Chavurah.

Max Ticktin was also a premier source of Yiddish language education for many and he was also a major supporter of the Jewish Study Center (JSC).  He was a co-founder of the JSC and brought the concept for the Latke-Hamentashen Debate to the Center from where it had started at the University of Chicago Hillel.  The debate is now named the Max Ticktin Memorial Latke-Hamentashen Debate.